1978 Yamaha 400 Electric Start

brittanym17

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
BCE7B507-CC22-4BDF-881A-C2EF29BC0BC6.jpeg
Hello! I’m new to this page but had some questions.

I recently got a 1978 Yamaha 400. I believe it’s an XS however, the title doesn’t say and from my knowledge it was custom build found at an estate sale.

It’s extremely hard for me to kick over so I’m looking at my options of converting into an electric start. I love worked on bikes before but this is something I would probably get done by a shop, however, to cut some costs I was looking into getting all the parts I need to do this ahead of time. My problem is that I don’t know all the components I need to do this. I’ve looked all over online but haven’t had much luck so if anyone can give me any pointers on the parts/components I may need that would be super helpful!! Or if you have any suggestions on how to make it slightly easier to kick over. I know someone mentioned a compression release kit for it but I don’t think it’s compatible with my bike but I could be wrong.

Added some photos for reference because I’m obsessed with her!

Thanks in advance!

330FEE18-F3EC-4368-AF9B-77B10692A7BC.jpeg

Kicking these bikes over shouldn't be overly difficult, put it in neutral, pull the choke but DON'T pull the clutch lever. That said, these came standard with electric start also. That chromed cover underneath the carburetors is where it sits. Some "racer" idiots remove the starter for weight savings instead of exercising and eating right. I have a spare starter if it's missing, if you need.

The 78 2-E was a factory delete e-start bike. All parts and wiring related to it where removed. So you will need everything to make it have an e-start. This can be expensive and hard to find all the stuff.

Not really clear what battery used there either, if somebody did the racer thing to shrink the battery then it may not pull a starter being too small.