1981 XS400 Special II Cafe Racer Build

riotten22

Nick Cook
Reaction score
Hey Guys, I am new to the XS400 forum and thought i would share my xs400 special II cafe build. Check out my do the ton link for all the details to date. Installing a Benjies Cafe Dolphin tank / seat combo, ordered it for an xs650 so we will see how much frame modification will be needed for it to fit. I will need to relocate the coils for sure...

http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=32386.0

2012-02-10_13-48-46_735.jpg
[/URL]

Thanks, Just playing around with exhaust designs right now. I want high pipes but they are going to end up being right where my legs are on the rear sets so may need to figure something out for a heat shield.

Saw the DTT thread a while ago. Can't wait to see bodywork fitted. Nice progress!
Hah, looked at your parts list, I am doing the same thing, so far 1.6k euros w/ bike,

Saw the DTT thread a while ago. Can't wait to see bodywork fitted. Nice progress!
Hah, looked at your parts list, I am doing the same thing, so far 1.6k euros w/ bike,

Ya the Benjies stuff and my Wheels / Tires have been the big budget killers so far. This is my second cafe build and with this one there is a specific look I want and that means some expensive parts.

Looks good with the fat tires. How well does the rear frame loop clear the tires when the shocks are compressed?

Ya I haven't tested that yet but I knew right away that the 1 inch of clearance wasnt going to cut it so I ordered a set of 14.5" shocks, hopefully that will give me enough room

Well the fiberglass tank and seat arrived today. Bad news is the tank doesnt fit on the xs400 triple spar frame. Some real modifications are going to need to take place now i guess ;( Anyone have any suggestions for removing the two side rails on the frame? Can i get away with fabbin up something to mount the engine mount to the center frame rail if I remove the two outside rails ?