1983 XS250 to 400 conversion - My Build

CadeXS

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
Right hey guys. Let me start off by saying this is my first bike. I am a amateur.

I have picked up and old 1983 xs special. It came with a 250 and 400 spare including whole engine.
I am replacing the top half, cylinders etc with the 400 and so far I have run into some problems. (By the my father who is handy with mechanics is guiding me through the process.

The 250 motor has bad rings and leaks compression terribly thus the change. And I want a bigger engine :)

First problem is that I was planning on putting the 400 block onto my 250 crankcase/gears or whatever, but the 400 pistons don't fit the crankshaft (I've included a picture)

So I am plannig on taking out the lower end changing the crankshaft. will the 400 crankshaft fit straight into the 250 lower end/gearbox. I wana know if anyone else knows before I go ripping into it and finding out it wont work and I should've just bought new rings......

I apologise for getting any terms wrong. I am new.

Thankyou

Attachments

• Crankcase Diagrams.png
    Crankcase Diagrams.png
    76.8 KB · Views: 717
  • Best all bike.jpg
    Best all bike.jpg
    133.1 KB · Views: 1,935
Don't do it. Get on Craigslist and find a complete running bike or post a WTB ad. Really, that's my advice. If you can't do that go get rings or whatever. But small engines are not worth working on, go find another one that runs and bolt it in. conversions or swaps from different models are NEVER easy. Unless someone has documented a "this works" swap there will be a BUNCH of gottchas that will make it undo-able.

- i thought the 250, 360 and 400 were all variations on the same building block, the stroke all being the same with the bore, valves and cam varying-250:360/400 -?-

I agree with the motors are cheap and swap it out , get to searching, I think you will be amazed at what you find.