'77 XS360 Barn find

Elsayal

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm Raoul, a new member from the netherlands!

I've been reading only, hanging around on the xs400 forum for a while behind the screens. Always wanted to build a caferacer, but didn't have the budget or the time for it. I drove a 2005 Z1000, until it was "apprehended" by the thieves guild, solving my problem, although not as I expected it would be solved.

So with insurance refund, I searched for an XS or SR suitable for a rebuild. SR's in general and XS's 650 are overpriced here, so eventually I bought a XS360 in very rough shape; It had been standing indoors for more than 10 years, and wouldnt fire up.

Currently the bike is stripped, every bolt is removed. Im in the refurbishing painting process at the moment, planning to do everything I can one small step at a time. I'm a refrigeration engineer, so technical skills and tools are not a problem, its just that this is my first rebuild, and now and then im looking for some pointers.

So first question:
I pressed the swingarm pivot shaft out, took over 150 tons in a industrial press! Bushings are completely shot, and the inner shaft is rotten solid to the outer shaft. I picked up a 2nd hand shaft which is the right thickness and too long, will need new threading, and had a rummage in the bins there for the outer shaft. Couldnt find the outer shaft, however could find two shorter ones of the right thickness.

Would it be a problem to grind the 2 outer shafts to required length and use that?

If I dont make sense, ill post more pics.
What I started with:

DSC_0002.JPG
DSC_0008_1.JPG

Engine cleaned and 2 layers of VHT engine enamel
DSC_0001_4.JPG

strange, original bushes are only nylon and you can melt them out if needs be. I just got a hacksaw and cut then 1/2 way then got a chisel to do the rest.

that needle kits would be your best bet or ebay has oilite bushes which I think are better.

Good to know the 650 bushings will fit.