78 Rebuild

ohnomogan

XS400 Member
Reaction score
F81AA2C6-E05C-4C3E-95E2-FC5B6BC90B01.jpeg

Hey, guys. I’m a newbie here. Just looking for some tips on my first rebuild. First up, I’m looking for a carb rebuild kit. I’ve checked a few out on eBay, but I’m not finding many that match my year. Any suggestions on good sellers/etc?

Welcome. You can find rebuild kits here:https://www.siriusconinc.com/pro-detail.php?pid=&product_id=712

That seller is also on EBay. Ive used these kits before and theyre good. Buy only authentic Mikuni jets if you end up needing those as well. The rebuild kit that I linked comes with jets but Im not sure that I used them or if my rebuild kits even came with them.

Tips on rebuild, take it slow. Dont tear everything apart at once. Keep your parts with the carb body they came off of. Do not soak the carbs in solvents when you still have rubber bits/seals on them.

After you get the carbs clean, do it all over again. Then do it once more, and then do it again.

Oh, and be sure to get a manual and read as much as you can.

Welcome and well listen to the above posts...................the carbs are the number one thing with these little bikes..............

Now if the girls at sirius would just show up and work on the bike the world would be good ;)

@spectra hahahaha well I’m a girl working on a bike, so don’t lose hope!

Well that's even better :D these things are not that bad just take your time and remember no question is a stupid one.......we all started out not knowing a whole lot on these and well at least I have learned a few things.......

Good luck and keep the pics coming of the build.