79 rigid- slow build style

mctwisty

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Figured i should start a build thread, instead of just lurking around. i have two '79s sitting in my garage, one was given to me, and the other is a build for a friends wife. i worked a deal where i fix his extensive, and ever growing collection of bikes, and he tattoos me (he owns a shop) and he gave me the bike I'm building now.
I recieved the bike stock, with a blown head and base gasket- replaced those (im a Toyota tech) and started cutting up the frame-

I had ordered the VoodooVintage rigid kit-

and i tacked everything up. Here is how it sits now-

clearly ready to ride, eh?
My direction on this build is, so far, clear as mud- but i have picked up a few necessities here and there. Will also be a slow build, as the Lady will be squeezing out my third spawn in Jan, so time is in short supply.
Right now, I think my biggest issue will be coming up with a rear wheel, as i want spokes, a drum, and I have ~an extra 1" to play with (insert any number of plays on that here) so if anyone has suggestions, I'm all ears.

Last edited:
well, I've made some progress, got my 16'' rear wheel, thanks to NA3S, and smacked out the lower rear mounts. I have another thread about the uppers, and the distance from the backbone to the mount points is exactly the length of an XS400 con-rod, so perhaps i can do something with that, as I have a couple spares.

have to get a rear sprocket and tire, probably used on the tire- just for mock up, until I am 100% sure this wheel is the way I want to go. Also, I think I'll have to pick up a watercooled TIG rig- this job is really pushing the limits of my cheapo.

Friend let me raid his attic, came up with a 21" spoke wheel from an old YZ.. slowly but surely... at this rate, I'll be done in another 10 years- give or take..