Advice for a first bike.

Kcekelkai

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello all!
Its my first post here and since I got the xs400 fever, what better place to post but here.
I am new to the entire motorcycle scene and am currently obtaining my license
(rode some scooters and a Simson S51 once lol)
And have located an XS400 in questionable condition. I am know there will be the usual "old bike work" but are there any stuff that i should look for when i go inspect it or any wierd noises(as i said im new to the scene) I intend of making it into a brat/cafe/style bike.
I have the mechanical knowlege and tools and all but i've never dealt with motorcylcles.
I can post some pics of the bike so you get the idea.

51359312181352185_1.pic

51359312181352185_4.pic

51359312181352185_5.pic

51359312181352185_6.pic

I spoke to the owner, he told me the bike was kept in a garage for the last two years and havent been driven since. There was an engine rebuild some time before that, and thats it.

What do you think?

Thanks! :D:D

Welcome! There's a couple of things you should look for:

How are the wearing parts doing: how much thread is left on the tires, are they cracked? How old is the battery and how well is it performing? How are the brake pads? (I see it's upgraded to disc brakes at the rear as well, that's good). Are the electrics working properly? Has it had regular oil changes? Has the fork oil been changed? Has it had new spark plugs, caps and cables? How are the brake lines, clutch cable and other cables doing? Are the chain and sprockets worn to the point of replacement? When were the valve clearances checked last? And did he sync the carbs after?