Build kicked off after long delay

AMR-XS400

Chopping to XS
Reaction score
Hi all. I havent been on for a while but i have finally kicked off the cafe/brat build on my bucket case 77 XS400. So far its been stripped and the build is beginning. The engine is being rebuilt from ground up. Since this was a basket case (everything was in boxes and not on the bike) i am still finding things i need to buy, i cant complain since i only payed $50 for the whole deal. At the moment I'm looking at getting the rear loop welded on and a custom cafe seat made up. I want to go kick start only, but still think i need to run a battery. Also the plan is to fit 4.50x18" Firestone tyres front and rear. HAs anyone fitted tyres that big on the front, concerned about clearance.

Anyway this is my first cafe racer build, and first rebuild of any bike. Im building this as well as a 1949 BSA BD1 at the same time. anyway, bear with me as im new to this and may ask stupid questions. Is there anyone else from Australia? or even Brisbane?

Attachments

• IMG_3643.jpg
    IMG_3643.jpg
    232 KB · Views: 501
  • IMG_3642.jpg
    IMG_3642.jpg
    228.7 KB · Views: 453
  • IMG_3648.jpg
    IMG_3648.jpg
    191.2 KB · Views: 437
  • IMG_3640.jpg
    IMG_3640.jpg
    227.6 KB · Views: 468
  • IMG_3646.jpg
    IMG_3646.jpg
    176.2 KB · Views: 418
Hey mate, good luck with you build! I'm also in Australia, way down in Mexico. I'm getting some rear loops made up if your interested. Check out my thread for info. I've also got boxes of XS spare parts.

Hi AMR, I like your man-cave.

$50 for a bike in boxes, what a bargain.

4.5" on the front is some fat meat, I heard from the guys at Deus that the SR400's don't handle very well with the fat firestones they put on all their bikes. They look tough though.

I have removed my starter motor and siliconed a 45mm brass welch plug to block the hole.