Cafe Build Project Progress

EJ8TrapKing

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi all I'm very new to building motorcycles and I am very inspired to finish this already started cafe racer build. I will try to keep one main thread to keep all new information together, and show the progress of my work. With patience and the help of the community I absolutely feel like I can finish up this project if I put my mind to it. Any feedback are welcome.:D

Here is what she looks like.

Attachments

• IMG_1054.jpg
    IMG_1054.jpg
    264.6 KB · Views: 419
  • IMG_1055.jpg
    IMG_1055.jpg
    232 KB · Views: 400
  • IMG_1056.jpg
    IMG_1056.jpg
    214 KB · Views: 452
  • IMG_1057.jpg
    IMG_1057.jpg
    217.9 KB · Views: 438
  • IMG_1108.jpg
    IMG_1108.jpg
    252.4 KB · Views: 432
Just cleaned the carbs and now its running, but its too raw.It backfires and needs a tune up and eventually I will need to know what has to be serviced.

How are you going to address the clearance on the tail section? Unless you set your rear shocks to maximum stiffness that is definitely going to bottom out and hit the tire.

Backfiring is often due to running lean because of an air leak in the intake. Also could be from running without the original air boxes causing a lean condition. However, I would look at the intake manifolds (rubber mounts between the carb and engine) for cracks, as well as the carb diaphrams and throttle shaft seals. Another option is that the carbs are not as clean as youn think they are. There are many tiny orifices and jets that need to be near surgical clean. A third option on the back firing could be ignition timing.

Best of luck with your build. It looks like you are off to a nice start.

4th option; he's running a 2-1 exhaust with pretty much no muffler so he's running lean. Increase the jet sizes.