First bike, first build!

Fullmetal

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
What's going on guys? I've been a fan of motorcycles ever since I was young, and it's always been a dream of mine to own one. Well, my 22nd birthday is just around the corner and I figured now was the time! I jumped onto craigslist and 2 days later I came home, now the proud owner of a 77 Yamaha XS360!

owJBzCg.jpg

AisZ7UJ.jpg

m6wVrNK.jpg

Only 2 previous owners, with 15xxx miles on the motor, and it's still fully functional. The guy I bought it from mentioned that the carbs would need some adjusting, but other than that, the bike feels like it came straight from the factory still. I've had it for about 3 weeks now, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to motorcycles (most of my friends are car guys, although that doesn't help much haha.) I've done some basic stuff, like changed the oil, replaced the shift lever (the original had been rewelded before, but very poorly), run some seafoam thru the system, but there are things I've noticed with the bike that need to be addressed:

1) I noticed the carbs leak gas while it sits overnight. Usually, only the bottom half (where the floats are) are wet.
2) The petcock leaks when I have it set to reserve, and I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to do that haha.
3) When the bike is cold, it idles low and roughly, but when it's warm, the idle is very high (in between 3000-4000)

That's all I've noticed so far. I know I probably need to take apart the carbs and clean them, but tinkering with them is a foreign concept to me. Over the winter, I want to make the bike into a mix between a tracker and a bobber but retain the original look of the bike (the paint is chipped in places, but it's almost perfect.)