First oil change!

Brian

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Just got my first xs400 from north dakota and im in texas. The original owner said something about changing the oil to a thicker one because of climate/atmospher change. I'm brand new to mechanics/motorcycles (never even changed oil for a car), but want to start learning now. What kind of oil would you guys recommend and how much does the xs400 take? And any other relevant advice would be greatly appreciated. Trying to learn as much as possible. Thanks

I have used Shell Rotella T in 15w40 and so far, so good. Others use 20w50. Use either a motorcycle specific oil or a "heavy duty" oil for diesels. Oils compatible with newer cars have friction modifiers that can cause the wet clutch in these bikes to slip. My bike has "2000ccs" cast into the engine cover near the oil filler, so start there and then adjust with the dipstick. For the first oil change, change the filter and [clean] the sump screen. After that, I only take the screen out every other change.

Last edited:
20w50; 20 is the lower range, 50 is the upper range

A lighter weight lower range should make starting easier when it is very cold, but very few people actually drive a motorcycle when it is very cold.

A heavier upper range should maintain proper viscosity (resistance to flow, or thickness if you want to get totally unscientific) in hot environments.

So, what should you use? I'd ask other locals or maybe even the techs at a local dealer parts counter. 20w60 or something like that would be my random, unsubstantiated guess.

Oh, and the bike takes 2000cc of oil if you're NOT changing the filter. If you ARE changing the filter it is something like 2300cc or 2.3 liters. Just dump in 2 liters and check the level; add more until you get the proper level.

Lighter weight (5w30) didn't just cause my clutch to slip; it leaks past the piston rings!