frame tubeing

reed

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
i am new to this site and not very proficant with a typwriter that being said i will give it a try. i have bought a xs 400 my son wanted the seat lowerd so i chopped the tubing up by the back bone and at the shock mounts wanting to put acurve in it but i dont have a tube bender so trying to improvize i noticed that 5/8 rebar fits in the tube was wandering if anybody knew if the rebar would be sufficiant enough to put in the tube hole and run back to new shock mounts

i would expect rebar to be hard to weld to and more brittle. the frame is made from mild steel. i'm no expert, but i wouldn't recomend it.

deff a bad idea. do you have any pics of what it looks like now? and maybe it will be easir for people to help out. from the info i would say go to a exhaust shop or a fab shop and see if you can purchase some pre-bent tubing? make sure you figure out the angles first. maybe use the rebar as a template and say i need X number of X inch tubing bent to X degree. just my 2 cents

I doubt most exhaust shops will be able to help you either since their machines are for larger diameter thin walled tubing... It's not easy finding local places that have the proper benders for structural tubing and that is why so many people buy their own benders.

As already stated.. Do not use rebar on your motorcycle... Even if it is strong enough it'll look really bad.

I have a fully hydraulic rotary draw bender. I could bend you some pieces from 1" diameter .120" wall tubing (ERW or DOM) and mail them. I would need to know the length and angle you need. Private Message me for details if you want.

Thanks for the offer, but I'm thinking about just breaking down and buying my own bender to get the bars done. I could use one around the shop anyway. Now all I need is a kitchen pass from my wife.