french xs400

niko

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
hello,
i've bougth a 400xs se 4g5 motorcycle 2 month ago.
I'm very happy and i want to do a dirt track.

the motorcycle didn't start since 5 year i think. the history of this motorcycle is very fuzzy...
i've cleaned carrb, changed diaphragm and I managed to restart the last week!:)

the right cylinder seems smoke more than the left and the exhaust seems more hot.

i want control the engine but it's not my job and i'm not an expert! i've.

I pulled off the engine but before opened and control i'm looking for the service manual.

I've bought the haynes manual but only in eglish, i've downloaded the service manual for the 400seca (in english, french, german). This manual is perfect but it isnt the sme engine!

can you help me to find the same service manual (in three language) but for 400xs se?

Tks and sorry about my english...

If you want, with friends we have a blog where you can find the progress on my xs and more :)
http://weepateam.blogspot.com/

Last edited:
Bonjour Niko, I know there is a multi lingual version posted here of the service manual. Is your SE a SOHC or DOHC? And it sounds like you are only running on one cylinder.

aurevoir

Bonjpur mon ami!
que est qe se? (that's it for my french, pardon!)

its a single cylinder xs twin :lol:

the carbs are still not cleaned properly, you need to REALLY strip them down, ultrasonic cleaning is the way to go.

i don't think the bike turn only on one cylinder.

the first time i started the bike, it turned only on right cylinder. The left exhaust was cold and this confirmed what i thougut about this bike because when i bought the motorcycle the right exhaust (collecteur) was blue but not the left!

It ws the reason i've cleaned the carb (changing all the pieces with the motorbay kit).

Now when i start twice are hot but perhaps the right was more! and the right smoked "black" more!