Fuse Box Replacement Help

Mister Mumblez

the motonewb
Reaction score
Hey guys, just picked a beautiful '80 XS400 Special for a measly 800 bucks. She's in great shape, with only 9500 miles on her. First thing on the list of upgrades is a new fuse box. Her box is getting rusty as tends to happen with the older women. I've seen on a few old threads on different forums that upgrading to a blade style fuse box is the way to go. Being a complete electrical/mechanical newb, I don't know where to start. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 3k33ma3pb5V25Y55X3b5c14de3507415712b5.jpg
    3k33ma3pb5V25Y55X3b5c14de3507415712b5.jpg
    9.4 KB · Views: 961
Hey Mister Mumblez, welcome to the site. The box I am going to put into my bike is a 6 terminal, blade style box along the lines of the one on the bottom of this page: http://www.picocanada.com/en/products/fuses_regular_accessories.php .
If you have the extra wire length, chop off half-an-inch or so for a fresh connection and crimp on female spade connectors (put some dielectric grease in the holes to keep the water out). Then just plug everything into the new box and fill with appropriate fuses and away you go.

welcome MM,
the replacement fuse boxes are pretty much plug and play :D type. Do one wire at a time and it should be a pretty simple swap.
I also went with a six terminal box, second from the bottom in chris' link
012-1.jpg

don't mind the mess of wires, still have to clean up the harness and shorten some runs..

Another option, depending on the look you want: The PO of my bike installed 4 weather tight twist-lock O.E. type glass fuse holders but kept the old fuse box (non-functional) for the original look. The twist-lock holders are stuffed beneath the fuse box and are out of sight. Whatever you do, solder where possible!

This is probably more work that it's worth, but this is what I did:

I went to Radio Shack. The Shack had this 4 place fuse holder available:

fuseholder.th.jpg