Got my first XS for FREE

bbd1983

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey all, brand new to the forum and I'm about as excited to start this thread as I was to get the bike...for free. Buddy dropped it off, I wasn't expecting much and when I asked him if the motor was free he said he hadn't even checked. I expected it to be considering how clean so much of the bike was....nope. Went to try and kick it over and the kicker moved a couple inches and stuck. Later that evening I pulled the plugs and since it had no carbs I poured some diesel in the plug holes and the intake. Didn't free up the kicker so I pulled the left side cover off, put a wrench on it and went back and forth lightly until it broke free and blew all that diesel out the holes. Kicker was then completely free. Compared to most of ya'll I'm a newbie to all this so I'm looking at this as a chance to start from the ground up and learn a bunch about this bike. This will be my most intensive work to date. I'll attach some pics, guy said it was and early 80s xs650 but it's a 79 xs400 special. Just wanna get this thread started and get the feedback ball rolling. Any and all info appreciated. I'm super excited about this free learning experience. Should be getting the carbs today. Was told it was a 1 owner bike then got passed on to someone else who had it running, pulled carbs and then it sat. Not sure how long or how so much of it went from 1 owner condition to partially torn apart. I think it has potential though, motor is really clean looking, gas tank same, alot of it is in really nice shape and despite being torn apart the harness seemed intact with the exception of a missing headlight and taillight
IMG_20200324_180439928.jpg
IMG_20200324_180602514.jpg
. Here we go guys...thanks in advance!

Attachments

• tag.jpg
    tag.jpg
    133.7 KB · Views: 254
  • IMG_20200324_180836169.jpg
    IMG_20200324_180836169.jpg
    206.3 KB · Views: 284