Hanging Revs Issue! Revs decrease slowly. Help!

Nate A

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Howdy!

I just recently bought a 1980 Yamaha XS400 Special II, and need a bit of help with an issue that I can't for the life of me figure out. I am by no means a mechanic, just started rebuilding bikes as a hobby a few years back. These threads have been an absolute godsend in my rebuild process, and I can't thank the members enough!

So here it goes.

The bike is 98% stock, plus or minus some relays. When I pull the throttle just barely faster than "creeping forward" the RPMs rise but slowly come back to proper idle. It, for some reason, does not occur when the bike is warming up, but only happens after 5-10 minutes of idle. The bike is driveable, but after I take it for a 15+ minute ride, the hanging idle only get worse. The revs will always fall back to idle, but shift changes are brutal, as you can always slow return of RPM's. The problem is most noticeable in 1st and 2nd after 2000 RPMs, 3rd/4th seems slightly better, and 5th/6th the problem is almost unnoticeable.

The bike is stock, the carbs have been THOROUGHLY cleaned 5-6 times, I have new throttle slides and diaphragms, brand new intake boots new gaskets and o-rings, all jets are pristine and match the factory jet sizes, float level has been meticulously set (they were not plastic, so I had to bend and balance each. Air filters have been replaced and all hose clamps are tight as can be. I have searched and searched for vacuum leaks but to no avail. The gas tank had very minimal surface rust which has been removed properly and effectively. I have two in-line filters and never find any evidence of crud in the carbs when I take them apart. The throttle cable has been replaced and adjusted to the right amount of free-play.

I have two-three concerns/ ideas that could pose as a threat and would love some feedback, as I am no professional.