Help! Stripped allen screw!!

XS400 Raptor

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I;m new to the forums and this is my first post. I have a 2003 Yamaha Raptor 660 that has a XS400 engine in it! Okay so here's my problem. My starter clutch is bad, so I'm going to replace it. I have all the screws off the left side case besides one..... It is stripped. Not just somewhat stripped, the hole is round like a circle. How do I go about taking this off? I need it off otherwise I cant take the case off and I can't replace the starter clutch. I am not a mechanic at all, but I'm not dumb haha. Oh yeah also I tightened one of the screws too tight and it broke. I should be able to get that off though so no big deal. When I just try to move the case it barely moves and can barely notice it. Is there more besides this one screw that's holding it on? Any help would be greatly appreciated! I wanna get back out and test my ice tires!!!

Hi mate welcome :) I recently had to remove a bolt from brake caliper on my cbr600, it was one of the long bolts that holds the brake pad in place. It was stripped round as well, I actually ended up getting a starbit (I think thats what you call them) that was a bit bigger than the stripped hole. I Tapped that in with a hammer until it was really jammed in tight, then unscrewed it with a ratchet and it worked like a charm. But now I cant get the starbit out of the stripped bolt, lol. May or may not work for you.

Heres a pic of a starbit set just in case you dont know what im talking about.

Attachments

• starbit.jpg
    starbit.jpg
    5.5 KB · Views: 321
I believe that those are Torx bits. They might work. I've used triple square to do the same thing. But left handed twist drill bits usually work better. Or screw extractors...

Dave