is this a broken tachometer cable?? how replace and fix?

stephen2us

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi.. I have a 1981 special II, and after switching the handlebars to euro styles, I noticed my rpms were reading zero when throttling. investigating I found what is in the picture, and I assume this is a tachometer cable? I am not mechanical, and changing the handlebars were challenging enough, but would like to fix this if possible? can you still get a cable? and how do I do this with details? Thanks! I assume the other end is somewhere in that hole still... thanks for the help... newbie here... :banghead:

Attachments

• broke.jpg
    broke.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 725
Remove the phillips head screw below the motor mount in that photo and the metal bit will pull out. A new cable just pops right in. The screw keeps it from coming out. The end on the tacho just screws in; get some slip joint pliers to ease removal and installation.

Oh, and yes, it is the tacho cable. Make sure to lube the new one before you install it.

Well, this isn't going well at all.... The old piece that was stuck in the hole, was pretty much welded on, and had to drill it out... Took a lot of work, and scary since I wasn't familiar with what was actually in the hole, or suppose to be there....

The end result thus far, is I have a small drill bit that broke off into the smaller hole (see pic) somehow.... It's not sticking out, so I can't get pliers on it. There is probably between half an inch to an inch of bit in there...I believe I just have to get that piece out, and new cable will be ready to put on... But no clue how to do so without messing things up even more.....

Steve

Attachments

• 20150630_192814.jpg
    20150630_192814.jpg
    174.9 KB · Views: 646
Last edited:
Someone else might have a more specific suggestions but my first idea is to stop drilling immediately!