1. Having trouble logging in? Try closing your browser and re-opening it. If that doesn't work, try a different browser or device. The site will be updated soon to resolve these browser issues.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Facebook people... We've created a group for XS400.com members to connect. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want an XS400.com t-shirt? Go to the store to order. Limited sizes and quantities available.
    Dismiss Notice

Just Got It

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Chip Chaser, May 10, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Chip Chaser

Chip Chaser XS400 New Member

Indiana
    New to the Forum, just got this yesterday. Will be asking a lot of questions. I've never worked on a bike before.

Attached Files:

2. bcware

bcware Well-read Top Contributor

Is that a 650?

3. logan

logan XS400 Enthusiast

its not a 650, but wow thats sure not a 400 frame either! kinda looks like a Cluster bomb!

4. bentwrench

bentwrench DOHC Crazy Top Contributor

That's an awesome looking bitsa bike (bitsa this, bitsa that...)

5. HoughMade

HoughMade XS400 Guru Top Contributor

Is that front wheel a Honda Comstar?

6. JARichmond

JARichmond XSively Addicted

That's one B.A.M.F. looking bike! I sure wish the entire build was on here. And of course, welcome to the forum! :)

7. Arclight88

Arclight88 XS400 Addict

It sure looks like a 1980 or later, XS400 motor in a cool frame!

8. Chip Chaser

Indiana
    I got the bike for about $100 (bought 2 bikes the other is a 04 Drifter) The motor is a 82 XS400 S the front forks,tire and gas tank are from a Honda. The frame was built from chrome molly and the seat pan is a Le pera (I think). A friend of mind is going to help me rewire it, but right now it's kinda fun just driving it the way it is.

9. Chip Chaser

Indiana
    20120510_162949.jpg
    Wiring is an ugly mess

20120508_172439.jpg
    Still it's fun to ride

10. drewpy

drewpy Excess twin Top Contributor

bloody ell, that wiring looks organic though.