MmmBoost's '78 XS400 Cafe Project

mmmboost

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I've been a lurker here for a little while so I thought I'd finally chuck up an introduction as well as the project I'm working on. <insert obligatory long intro apology>

I'm a gearhead and have been ever since I can remember. My father and I restored a 1969 Beetle when I was a kid and since then, turning wrenches and building things have been a huge passion in my life. I pretty much can't leave anything alone. In 2009 I bought a 2005 Audi A4 Ultrasport that I spent several years building and modifying. (Build Thread Here) But in 2014 someone crashed into me and the car was written off and ever since then there's been a serious void in my life.

I was always into sportbikes as a kid, so when I started riding motorcycles in 2007 that's what I gravitated toward. I started on a 97 Yamaha YZF-600R, rode that for a few years, and then picked up an '07 Suzuki GSX-R600. That being said, I've always had an appreciation for vintage bikes like the old Indians and Nortons. Over the past few years I've been doing some research and drooling over photos of cafe racers and this XS400 happened to just fall into my lap, so I guess this was the universe's way of saying "the time is now."