My 1977 xs360 Build, may take a while, but its a start..

Norman1950

XS400 Addict
Reaction score
I am in the process of finishing up my GS 1000 Cafe bike and this one is next in line. I am just a hobbyist "bike builder". I have always like to fiddle and tinker with things and motorcycles have become my passion and enjoyment. I started off with a 1990 Katana and had a family friend help me paint it (which that started it all off). I have owned a few crotch rockets and a few cruising bikes. Still kick myself for selling off the Yamaha warrior, but it was in awesome shape and nothing for me to tinker with (that i could afford).

Anyways back to the xs360. I originally bought the basket case for the wheels and really liked the looks of a "complete" bike on the internet. So decided to source a frame out locally. So now have 2 motors and several parts to pick from. I have always like the looks of a clean cafe bike. The frame and motor I picked up has drum wheels front and back. But have forks for a disc front also.

So onto to the pictures....

Here is the "basket case" picture... which started this whole project...

And here is the "complete" bike I picked up... with the "basket case" tank and side cover on...

Here are some inspiration pictures that I have found and wanting to replicate some parts...

Next I was able to get some correct xs360 carbs from TheRev (thank you very much). Weren't in the best of shape, but they were complete minus the choke lever. So I went ahead and tore into them to clean them up. Went out and bought a harbor freight ultrasonic cleaner and already had some Berryman's carb dip.

Cleaning one at a time. Soaked the first one in the dip and cleaned it off with carb clean and then into the ultrasonic cleaner. First I tried the white vinegar mix and then I tried Mean Green degreaser. Had pretty good luck with the mean green. Here are some pictures of the before and after and during...