Need help with timing.

Luke M

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I need some help setting the timing on a 78 XS400 guys. I followed the instructions in the manual but the timing seems to be still completely off. I loosened points A and attached a test light to point B. I spun the motor over so that it is aligned at the "LF" mark. Before"LF" and after the line the light still stays on. I cannot rotate the plate enough to make the light go off before the "LF". Any ideas on what can be done to set the timing? I went ahead and removed the screws at point "A" and removed the plate and spun the motor to see if I can get the light to stay off before the line after "LF" but still no dice. Help would be greatly appreciated please. I'm a complete XS newbie so please bear with me.

1.jpg

Jesus. This is way too complicated!!!!!!!

Rotate your crank until the left side is at the top of the compression stroke (will push air out on your thumb if you cover the hole) That means it should fire at the top at LF. If you put a drink straw in the plug hole it will move upwards with the piston... Make sure it's when the PISTON is up, and the valves are closed (pushes air on your thumb over the plug hole)

You put a plastic wrapper made out of cellophane between the points. Tug gently on the plastic. When it gets to LF, the plastic should suddenly be released, and your spark should fire between the point gap.

I rotate until I get to TDC left side, then rotate backwards until I can't see the LF mark. Then I put cellophane between the points. While tugging gently on the cellophane, i roll the crank forward until I see the LF again, and the cellophane should be released when LF is below the arrow. That's all there is to it. Do the same on the Right side. You're done.

You can gap them easily. If they aren't opening at the right time nothing will matter.

Ride safe.

Drewcifer

Are they OPENING at the correct time? that's what the cellophane test verifies.