New guy, and possible xs400 owner

zjustin28

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, new guy here.

Im looking at purchasing a 1980 xs 40 special II. From a local guy i know.

It seems to be in okay shape, only pic i have of it:
s33982.jpg

As it sits, it has 991 original miles. Yes, 991. Also has original tires, and original gas from 1981 :banghead:.

The guy im possibly buying it from, wants 450 bucks. To my uneducated self, this seems like a good deal?

He says, it needs a new battery, carbs/tank cleaned, and obv new tires.

Im wondering if id be looking into an electrical nightmare, or any other big issues. He says it kicks over fine, but hasnt tried actually starting it. It has been stored inside all its life, so i dunno how bad anything could really be.

Im new to bikes, but am very knowledgeable about cars/mechanical stuff. (restoring my 77 formula firebird, and finishing up a build on my 1985 z28)

Just kinda wanting some tips/advice on the purchase.

Thanks!

As long as it has a title I would go for it:thumbsup: With those little of miles I would think just a general tune up would do it.

yep, looks a good start. carbs would need to be checked and gas tank cleaned up along with all the rubbers checking.

fun bikes to work on.

Yep, has a title. What are some thingsto check for? I tried searhing for a buyers guide by bcware, but couldnt find it...anyone got a link?

I would definitely buy it!!!

less than 1000 miles on a 30+ year bike... with a clean title. You should have no problem getting it running again. Change out all the fluids, clean the carbs, swap the plugs and battery and I bet it starts right up. With that little amount of miles, I bet it's still on the factory settings...

That's a hell of a deal. Scoop it up before someone else does!

So, in trying to keep my costs down: