New member with some spare parts in good condish!

t8erbug

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
T8erbug's XS400 Brat/Scrambler

I joined a while back but now I actually have some stuff to post ha. My uncle gave me his 1980 XS400 Special that he bought new so she's a legit one-owner. It's got about 19K miles. He gave it to me with new paint on the body work, new badges, and the carbs apart in boxes. I was in a "cut it up cuz it's easy" stage and immediately began cutting (mostly unbolting) all of the stuff off I didn't want, namely, the rear end. I have been building a GS750 cafe racer for about 4 years now and was just tired of building, fabbing, machining every single piece for it hence the cut up stage. I wanted something simple and I wanted to ride... This bike finally stole my attention because I'd been itching to ride so bad. I've got 5 bikes and all of them are in the project stage aka unrideable. This one was the closest to being a runner so I thought I'd give the carbs a good clean and reassembly to see if it'd run. It does! I figure this bike would make a great brat/around town/dirt-road-to-fly-fishing-spot bike and a build like that is something I can turn around quick with only minor mods. I liked the idea of a brattier type project because it's relatively simple compared to the in-depth cafe racer build with all kinds of swap this and swap that's, fab fab fab, machine this, make that, weld, blah blah. Brats aren't necessarily about how fast they can go around a track, and I like that. I like the drum brake in the rear and the old simple stuff that make it what it already is. I also like that they almost look better dirty and with knobby tires.