New to riding and XS400!

TomFX4

Beginning Rider
Reaction score
Hello! My name is Tommy and I'm from North Carolina. I just bought my first motorcycle. I've been riding Yamaha dirt bikes since I was young. I'm 22-years-old and just bought a 1982 Yamaha XS400 Heritage Special! I don't know much about the bike at all. I bought it from someone who bought it to learn to ride on. I'm just learning to ride myself. I paid $300 for it!

It needs some things. It has a small oil leak I have to investigate. The wiring looked whacked on it. The rear left turn signal appears to have melted (uh-oh..). A paint job wouldn't hurt. Needs tires. And the worst.. Doesn't appear to be running completely on the left side. The exhaust only gets moderately hot. When I pull the ride side plug, it dies. When I pull the left side plug, it continues to run. The spark plug wire on the left side shocks me when I tough it. I'm going to replace the wires and boots, and clean the carb. I'm knowledgeable with diesel trucks. I have a 2000 F350. So this will be a learning process for me! I can't even find the oil filter on this thing! The guy I got it from said it didn't have one. I'm figuring this bike probably wasn't taken care of that well. I don't intend on getting rid of it.

Sorry for rambling! So a few questions..
Where does everyone suggest getting parts from?
Are these bikes fairly easy to work on?
Are they fairly reliable if taken care of?

Attachments

• XS400_02.jpg
    XS400_02.jpg
    216.8 KB · Views: 320
Welcome to the Forum.
Here's a link to a thread which will get you off to a great start. If you follow it and don't take any short-cuts, you will have the best chance of NOT giving yourself additional problems to fix, :wink2: :
It has a link to the manual for your bike. Among other things, it will show you where your oil filter is.