New To Site!!!

YammaBobba

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey I'm Seth I'm new to the Yamaha world but got a gift that I am hoping to figure out. I got a 1977 xs360d for free and having some issues that I think are caused by wiring issues. Im going to at some point turn it into a custom bobber but would like to atleased get it started and go from there. For starters the bikes all there and in great shape the back has been cut off from the guy before me going to mod it. Also different tires on it already big thickys LOL. I tried to start it one day and nothing happened at all. No power or anything. I first checked the fusing where I found out the fuses were hard wired besides two fuses. I check them and the main fuse was the only one with power the others didnt have any not even the ignition fuse. I then decided to run a wire from battery right to the ignition where u put the key in. I hit the start button and did hear the starter click everytime i hit it but thats it. I have found a colored wiring diagram but have no idea how to read it I know its common since on most but the symbols to me are clueless. I have worked on bikes before like harleys, motorized bikes ect but never a Yamaha and for some reason there like a new animal to me I dont understand it. Can anyone help me out understand maybe whats going on and what I can do to better this bike. I cant wait to hear this thing start. After all this time I have finally found this site. Any comments helping me are much appriciated I am a young buck trying to gain some knowlledge with these I have seen so many cool things done with Yamahas and got me into it. Im just confused with this wiring because someone has tampered with it:banghead: