new to this and having problems diagnosing my front brake problem (Part 1)

Thecopsrcoming

XS400 Member
Reaction score
hey guys my names jon and im pretty new to the whole maintenance thing, i own a 1979 xs400, and I'm 22. ive been riding dirtbikes, quads and dunebuggies since i was 6 but never really had to maintain anything seeing how the toys i used werent actually mine and they were relatively new. im pretty savy with tools and i know the jist of just about how everything works but I'm lacking in experience... my goal for the future is to change it to a cafe racer but right now main priority is getting it running safely and learning how to do it on my own anyways here goes...

so after storing my bike in a family friends backyard before moving to florida for a while, i recently recovered my bike. it was sitting there for a year and after being hit by sandy in long island, ny the cover was blown off and was exposed to the elements for the past like 9 months. besides the fact that shes a lil rusty and needs basic maintenance shes still intact...