new wiring for future bobber?

fendrjgstng94

XS400 Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys

I have a 79 xs400 and am planning on doing a bobber project with it. My one main concern is the wiring, even though I'm an electrician by trade, I'm not too confident with motorcycle wiring (idk why). Do you guys reuse some of the stock wiring or is there a kit people buy specifically for bobbers that can help minimize wiring and make it easier to do for newbies? People say its pretty simple, but for some reason I'ts not clicking in my head

I want to keep the bike as clean as possible so pretty much what i want is a horn, night time lights and possibly a neutral indicator light (plan on reusing stock gauges) and maybe I'm forgetting other things to make it street legal. I'd also like to try to keep most of the wires hidden in the frame and fake oil tank. I plan on removing the electric start too once i get the motor up and running.

Any tips?

Thanks

Wiring isn't hard at all. There are numerous diagrams online that show wiring for a simple bobber. You'll need headlight, tail/brake light, gauge lights, license plate light, etc. If you want to keep it street legal, don't forget the turn signals as well. I just traced down the wiring for each component that I wanted to keep, and saved those wires. The rest got cut out of the harness and thrown away.

what about like the key ignition, did you relocate it to clean up the bars? and with the hardtail frame did you run the wires inside or just try to hide them as good as you could?

I'm interested in this as well. Took the headlight out and about 10 minutes later I woke up.. there are alot of wires in there.. I've thought about doing the same, making a new harness that can be tucked up under the rails out of sight. Plus the wiring on these bikes is likely 30 years old so new wire can't be a bad thing.