Newbie to Bikes, and XS400

fR3ZNO

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

Picked up a 81' XS400 a few weeks ago from my dad's friend (for the best price, free). It had been sitting awhile, but, it only has 9000 miles on the odometer. Started tearing into it right as I got it home before I took any pictures, haha.

I have been using this forum a lot for information, been very helpful (like the free manuals you can download in the sticky :))

As I said, I'm new to bikes, but I have been wrenching on cars for quite some time. I'm a younger guy, still in school for Engineering.

Thankfully, my dad had wrenched on quite a few bikes in his time, so he a bit of knowledge as well.

Hope to get it running soon, so far, I've replaced all the main wear items and maintenance including rebuilding the carbs (never done that before! used to fuel injection hehe)... still waiting on some o-rings I need to finish that up. But, it's been fun so far, always looking forward to getting home and wrenching on it.

Look forward to riding it, as I have never rode a motorcycle before!

photo1-1.jpg

photo2-1.jpg

photo3-1.jpg

Hi and welcome!

Nice find, free is the best price. Looks like you've got yourself a very complete and original bike.

if you're looking for some help on things you can't find in the manual, look here. Good luck and keep posting updates ;)

Thanks for the link! I have been slacking on posting updates. I've been mainly just waiting on different parts to get here and installing them.

So far:

- new throttle cable
- grips
- carb rebuild kit (more on that later)
- brake master cylinder
- caliper rebuild kit and new stainless piston
- spark plugs, wires, and caps
- speedo/tach assembly
- oil change
- adjusted valves
- put battery on charger