Replacing 1981 XS400 Carbs

wutwolf

XS400 Member
Reaction score
So, I bought this bike a few weeks ago. Replaced the starter motor this weekend, because I couldn't kickstart it to save my life. Now, the bike will start after a few seconds, but then will slowly wind down till it dies.
After a little research, I decided the carbs needed to be cleaned. Took them out and discovered they must have been dropped in the past because one of the bowl covers was cracked and then Bondo-ed back tight. I took the cover off, thinking, Oh, okay, that can't be that bad. Then I see that one of the brackets holding the float pin in place has cracked and is missing as well.

Long story short, I'm done with this carb. Can't find another exact replacement cheap enough. I was wondering how I would find out what other carbs would work on this bike as I'm new to this.
I saw the thread on two-to-one carbs, but don't have a welding torch or any experience. So, I'd prefer something that was more plug-n-play.
Thanks!

Any sohc xs400 carbs will work. I would look for a set of 80-82 model because the 77-79 models are not going to have all the same parts as the set you have. Any pics of what you have so maybe we can give you some ideas on how to fix them, or how bad they are:wink2:

I went and took some pictures. I also included a picture of whatever the thing it plugs into is called. I don't know if it's relevant or not, but I figured more info is better than less.

I peeled most of the Bondo off the outside to get a better look at it.

Also, what does sohc mean?

Attachments

• 20120903_171046[1].jpg
    20120903_171046[1].jpg
    184.7 KB · Views: 633
  • 20120903_171054[1].jpg
    20120903_171054[1].jpg
    165.7 KB · Views: 482
  • 20120903_171059[1].jpg
    20120903_171059[1].jpg
    100.4 KB · Views: 491
  • 20120903_171137[1].jpg
    20120903_171137[1].jpg
    131.3 KB · Views: 500
I can answer at least one of your questions! sohc means "single overhead cam".