RH cylinder is too rich

Jay H Miller

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi All, I'm new to the "forum world". Forgive me is as I learn the process.

So I'm working on a 79 XS 400. The LH cylinder had a real bad plug cross headed. I removed cover and inserted helicoils in both sides. Lapped the valves and put it all back together. I checked the valves with carb cleaner. They are not leaking. I'm confident things went back together with everything in the correct timing. LH TDC, came shaft and sprocket all aligned. I set the gap and the timing. As part of the rebuild I wrapped pipe tape on the exhaust and attached new mufflers. The mufflers have the same baffle. But the body of the muffler from the baffle to the front end is longer than the mufflers that were on the bike.

Started it up. Used my color tune to adjust the idle. sync the carbs with gauges and check the idle mixture again. Not real happy with the color on the LH. Looked too lean. Idled great. When at about 4000 rpm it would miss. I should also mention that the LH side is much hotter than the RH. Missing at higher rpm so I thought maybe the timing needed to be advanced a little. I moved it forward. Still not luck. RH plug is loading up and LH looks too lean. I opened the carbs up and adjusted the main needle position up leaning out the system. (needle deeper into the main) while in the carbs I checked the jets. I wondered it by some chance they were not the same. Both are 132.5. ( I do have a set of 125) The air jets are both 45. No luck. By the way the other things I tried have been; put the old plugs back in. the new ones were different band just in case the new ones were wrong. And verified the gaps again. No luck. Remove the mufflers to see if the new ones caused some issue. No luck. I'm all out of ideas.

What could I have done to have such an in balance between the two cylinders?

Help - Very frustrated at this point.