RPM hesitates after 5k

phatman1969

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Newbie here, this is a great forum and I appreciate all the free advice. This is my second xs400, had one a while back and when i saw this one on craigslist I had to buy it. It is 1982 XS400K DOHC. Ok, got the carbs clean today. Bike now runs well up to about 5000 rpm and then starts popping a bit and losing some power. Let out of the gas and when the rpms come down gas it again same problem around 5 and above. I bought it with the pod filters on it, and the pipes cut.No idea what jets are in it. I have been playing around with the screws, thought I had it dialed in.Not sure what to do next. Any help out there?

From what I've heard that can be a vibration issue in the boots, or you can check the condenser but it's "never the condenser" according to Dan's MC. (You should go on Dan's MC if you get the chance.

Lastly, float bowl height!

Good luck.

Thanks for the reply. The boots are good, snug, no cracks. Will tear em down again and check the float bowl height. Any recommendations on what it should be set at?

Sounds like your main jets aren't big enough. Check your jet size (by all means, check your float heights first, as it's easier), but the pull your carbs, and check the little numbers on the main jets. You may need this guide to help identify if this is your first attempt at looking at carbs: http://www.amckayltd.com/carbguide.pdf

Report back with your numbers. If the PO switched to pods, they may not have increased the jets, and once you stop using all that byzantine plastic, you definitely need bigger jets to deal with the bigger airflow.

Oh, the guide says for XS650s, but we use the same carbs (with different jet sizes, but the theory and pictures all work for the years in question. You have BS34 carbs, if they are stock, and they probably are.)

Yes, it's electric ignition.