Skillzmans XS 400 Cafe build...yep another cafe!!

skillzman1

XS400 Junkie
Reaction score
So this is my first attempt at a cafe build...picked up an '81 XS 400...lots of work to come...but so far today I got the 'knee dents' done...and into primer...more to follow!!
xs400004.jpg

xs400003.jpg

xs400010.jpg

xs400008.jpg

Nice man !!! Looks top notch ! I have an xs400 cafe project as well , do you have any spare parts?

You're doing the right thing by going cafe with that bike. The sooner we forget XS400s once had "king and queen" seats and those awful pullback bars, the better.

how do you make knee dents? Hammer?

they do look a bit like xs750 tanks (which is no detriment, as they look good)

xs750_tank.jpg

let me get some thoughts on this....My bike has the wire spoked wheels...drums front and back.
Should I stick with what I have...and polish them up....or should I bother trying to upgrade to disk stuff?
I personally prefer hydraulic disc brakes....but does the 'old drum' look give a bit more vintage feel?
I heard said that the wire spoked drum setups are harder to come by...is that true?
If so it would seem to add value to the bike....if thats true?
Obviously its a budget minded build...I want it to be quality workmanship...and maybe on the verge of 'work of art' status...which I think is mostly in the elbow grease used and patience.But I dont want it to look like I skimped on certain things.......

not sure if thats making any sense....Maybe those who have been around this stuff awhile longer have some input as to what looks cool and somewhat unique...and what looks average.
I think I'm leary of getting 'upside down' $$ wise in a hurry....you all know how that works...starts out as a easy/cheap project that starts sucking the wallet dry..
anyways...thoughts??

I would keep the wheels you have, spoke wheels with drums have a very cool vintage look to them. And it keeps the bar less cluttered because you dont need a brake cylinder.