Starting, starting

seanneyb

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My XS400 is from 1979; I bought it a few months ago as my first motorcycle (I've been riding a scooter for about 8 years and decided it was finally time to upgrade). Appearance-wise, it looks to be in pretty nice shape, and has ~5100km on the odometer. Brought my motorcycle buddy to test drive it, started up fine, ran fine but had a bit of a tendency to backfire ~6000 RPM. Figured it just needed a tune-up and fluids so I took it to the shop I've had the scooter serviced.

Evidently a lot of the electrical needed to be replaced, and wasn't charging properly, so the shop ended up rebuilding the stator and field coil assembly, installed a regulator/rectifier, and replaced the fusebox with inline blade fuses. They also installed new fuel lines and added a fuel filter (as well as new tires, and a few other maintenance things)

I got it back and have ridden it a few times. It was still backfiring around 6k, and hesitating quite a bit, especially if I'm on the throttle. And it would occasionally die instead of idling. I got in touch with the shop, and their response was basically "old bikes are finicky; the next step is check compression, timing, and valves, and estimated 4-5 hours of labour. I've already paid them a lot of money to get it to where it is now, and figured it's time to learn how to fix my bike myself (I've never worked on motorcycles before, but I follow instructions well and have worked on my own cars since I've been driving)

Around this time I found this forum and started searching. There's a lot of information here! I bought a compression tester, and it seems to check out - 155 on the left, 162 on the right.