Reaction score
IMG_20171001_081745.jpg
IMG_20171004_080023.jpg
IMG_20171004_080015.jpg
IMG_20171004_080046.jpg
Long Time lurker, first time poster.
The details.
Bike - 1978 SOHC xs400.
Me - Handy with a wrench and reader of instructions.

New Parts:
Carburetor to cylinder boots
Brass Floats
Exhaust gaskets
Emulsion tubes
42.5 pilots
142.5 mains
Float pin valve and seat
Emulsion washers
Battery
Uni foam pods
Chain
Countless spark plugs
Oil
Oil filter
Light bulbs all around
Petcock to vacuum tubing
Vacuum barbs
Couple new lengths of wiring
Spark plug wires and boots
NOS 1979 ish H pipe exhaust
in-line filter
Condenser
H-Pipe for carburetors!!! Found a great condition one on ebay
Throttle cable
and the smiles i have riding it.

Intro
Hi folks thought i would post a proper introduction. The names Dillon and i've been scooting around on a xs400 for about 10 months now. My obsession with 2 wheels goes back rather far and I always new i would be sitting on top of one that weighed 4-6 times heavier then me. What kind of 2 wheel'ers? Bicycles! everyone's got one and there is nothing easier right? Any who i literally get paid to work on bicycles and fallow instructions to the letter. My College days brought me a few courses of Automotive technology and at one point after about 5 years of regular practice i thought i was going to do something with my welding experience, but who would've thought around that same time i would land the "dream" job. Pedal bikes baby, lots of them and some of the latest technology. These days though I could not want to pedal a bike less, suit me up for a day on the motorcycle and i'll see you in 5 hours. So here i am, as i find the time to update this thread i'll be certain to include in depth trial and error, reasoning behind plans of attack and ultimately what the fix was. The engine is finally running very well and as i compile my notes i'll be sure to post pictures soon. Thanks for any future insight!

Petcock

Post 9-23-2017
What I've learned.