What Gasoline should I use?

roloscot

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I know that this must be one of the most stupid questions of all time but what grade of gasoline should my 1977 xs400D use? :doh: The manual says regular, light leaded fuel. Does this mean that an additive needs to be added to regular unleaded gas?

After many months of rebuilding my xs400D, it started for the first time yesterday. I just put in regular gas to get it going. I will post some photos use I have the bike fully completed.

Many thanks,

Mark.

I think most guys run premium. In a lot of states, the premium fuel doesn't have ethanol which can cause problems with fiberglass tanks (cafe bikes) and certain rubber parts like aftermarket carb holders.

I don't think you need to run the lead additive, but I'm no expert. I've done some reading on the issue and there is a lot of conflicting information out there on the topic. Sorry I can't be of more help.

Lead was just used to boost octane. Currently ethanol is used to boost octane instead; some states mandate this by law and others are not required to label the pumps indicating it has been added. I cannot imagine an older bike needing more than regular fuel. Octane is just a resistance to (premature) detonation; higher compression engines require higher octane fuels. A 30 year-old bike does not have a "high" (relatively speaking) compression engine.

Ethanol probably does destroy fiberglass from what I have read, but I am not sure about rubber. I work in a lab that contains specimens kept in glass vials full of ethanol with rubber stoppers; some of them are over 50 years old and all they do is swell up over time.