Which parts should I use between my two complete bikes for my project?

SpikeG

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi all, my name is Spike, new to the forums but I've been lurking for a month or two watching all your killer builds. Marine mechanic by trade but this will be my first complete bike build. You guys have already helped me immensely so I figured it was time to join up and participate. Before I start with any questions, is there a recommended list of engine mods or upgrades to fix any common factory issues (aside from the tech section)? On the Suzuki forum I'm on, they suggest things like non-vacuum petcock, slightly larger jets than factory, ect to get it running correctly but I suppose its more bike dependent here.

Which brings me to my real point! I recently picked up two xs400's for a very good deal. a 78' E, and I believe an 81' special. the 78 was running (poorly, cracked cases, oil leaking everywhere and metal bits in the oil) with a clean title and 28,000 miles, the 81 special has no title and hasn't run since 94 but has 4,000 miles and aside from some patina, everything seems to be in pretty good shape. Since the 81 is lower miles and non points, I plan on going through that engine and swapping it into the 78 frame.

I noticed some slight differences in the carbs and was wondering if they're interchangeable? they look almost identical except the drain screws and some tiny differences but I haven't taken them apart yet and was wondering if either set had an advantage or if I should keep them motor-specific.

I'll also be swapping the wire wheels/drums on to the titled frame, is there anything I should be looking for here as well? I plan on using just the fork lowers from the drum setup as there is a little pitting on those uppers, I assume they're both 33mm!