XS400 Maxim Won't Start

popmac

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Well, this was going to be a "first bike!" post but sadly I'm having some issues. This is my first bike and I have very little knowledge but am happy to learn and try things out. First I want to rule out anything stupid and if I need to take it to a mechanic then fine but if it's something I can do I have no problems reading manuals and watching videos, I just don't know where to start. I've tried Googling but can't find my exact problem so I'll be as specific as possible.

The bike was bought yesterday and the previous owner on two separate occasions three(ish) hours apart did a cold start of the bike so it should be running. After transporting it back I'm stuck.

Trying to start the engine, it turns over but just won't quite get there. After trying a few times one of two things will happen - either absolutely nothing, or a rapid clicking sound. The clicking can either be accompanied with the engine turning over briefly or nothing.

Letting the bike sit for a while returns it back to the initial state - it'll turn over but not start for a bit then clicking after a few tries.

I messaged the original owner to see if the bike has any weird quirks to get it going and he said no. Bike in neutral, set the petcock to prime, choke all the way to the left, start it, move petcock to open, let it sit for a bit and move the choke to the right.

I've tried the petcock in on, reserve and prime, tried messing around with where the choke is, can't get it to start.

So - any ideas? Where should I start with this?

Thanks!

Welcom @popmac! You can start by charging the battery which has been drained by your efforts. While that is happening, you can spend time reading through the posts here. We have so much info here it overwhelms people into asking questions that have been answered.