XS400 Special -82, Building a scrambler of sorts...

Fogeljazz

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a sort of a newbie bike owner from Stockholm, Sweden, who recently bought an -82 Special (4G5).
It's in decent condition, but has been standing still in the po's garage for a couple of years. It has only got about 3000 km's on the clock and I paid 350 Euros for it (approx $430), so it seems as a fair deal.

I'm going to modify it into a scrambler of sorts, no major changes but some decent 50/50 tires (70/30 or similar can also work), new seat, handlebar, turn signals, tail light etc.

I've been looking around the forum a bit, and it seems I have the usual "old carb issues" :)
Since it has been standing still for a couple of years, the carbs are of course dirty. I've installed an in-line fuel filter to exclude any sludge coming from the tank, and cleaned the carbs a couple of times, but haven't got it running properly yet. It starts easily enought, on both cylinders but doesn't really want to hold a steady idle. It revs up at first, especially if boosted with a little starter spray, and then slowly dies. Sometimes it runs for 30 sec to a minute and then dies, and sometimes it dies pretty much right away. I guess it's a matter of fuel flow and that I need to clean the carbs again, and again. If anyone has any other ideas here, please let me know.

One thing that bothers me a bit, is that the starter motor "squeals" quite a bit when running, or actually more like when it disconnects. It's a kind of squealing, grindy noice that I'm not sure sounds very well. Do you know what this might be caused by?

I'll try to keep this thread updated as the build progresses, and keep some pics coming as well :)
The first pic is of the bike when we got it home and into my friends garage, and the other two are WIP-pics in the process of tearing off unwanted parts and test-fitting the new seat.

//Emil

IMG_20180124_130014.jpg
IMG_20180215_221204.jpg
IMG_20180215_221214.jpg