Xs400s 1980 carbs help

Caden D Quillen

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
So first things first. I'm new to carburetors. I pulled the float bowls they're clean, but when I throttle to start the bike the floats, I think, they don't open with the butterfly valve. I can push them into the float bowl and they drop down at about the same speed more or less. Do they need fuel pressure to raise and lower? I need a Mikuni carburetor crash course lol

Attachments

• 20171023_130508.jpg
    20171023_130508.jpg
    297.7 KB · Views: 404
So first things first. I'm new to carburetors. I pulled the float bowls they're clean, but when I throttle to start the bike the floats, I think, they don't open with the butterfly valve. I can push them into the float bowl and they drop down at about the same speed more or less. Do they need fuel pressure to raise and lower? I need a Mikuni carburetor crash course lol
This video might give you some hints.

Note that your carbs don't have the accelerator pump so disregard that minor part. I'm sure with a little more digging one could find a better video.

https://thexscafedotcom.wordpress.com/2011/01/10/xs650-carbs-mikuni/ This is for the mikuni bs34 carb. There is a lot of this on google. Your look to be for a 82 sohc xs400. All 80-82 sohc xs400 carbs are the same other than the 81-82 used foam floats where the 80 used brass ones. The float heights are set different. Brass are 26mm and the foam are 32mm.

For a xs650 but very close to the same.

Last edited:
I may have miss understood the OP's question. Now I'm thinking he is referring to the throttle slide and not the floats. As he is expecting them to move when the butterfly is actuated. He also says he can push them up and see them move.

hi
i think you are describing two different things
the float and float bowl are situated at the bottom of the carb - the float moves up and down depending on the fuel level in the float bowl.