Yamaha XS360 Build

TheClassicJD

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Howdy!

I picked up this old girl from craigslist for cheap recently. She's in pretty good shape just missing a few key parts (carbs, kickstart arm, wiring harness was pretty rough etc.). Figured i could use this forum to share my work and get some help seeing as i'm still new to working on motorcycles.
IMG_3091.jpg IMG_3125.jpg

As of today she's stripped down and ready for a sandblast and paint.
IMG_3142.jpg
IMG_3151.jpg

Motor looked good, no random metal shavings anywhere and it was surprisingly clean.

Attachments

• IMG_3145.jpg
    IMG_3145.jpg
    144.6 KB · Views: 324
Actually quick question for you guys, does anyone have a good carb recommendation for her? Been leaning towards Mikuni VM28's but honestly haven't seen much relating to that except that VM30's might be too big.

Thanks for reading!

I'd recommend the stock Mikunis.
VMs have been discussed a bunch. Try putting "VM carb" in the search box. A few different setups have been used but good results and feedback are few.

Thats kinda what i've been seeing. Most VM threads die off once the setup hits tuning, it seems mostly due to frustration. I've definitely been keeping an eye out for a set of stock carbs but nothings really jumped out at me recently.

Whats the lowdown on XS400 carbs on a 360?

Hi , i have also this XS360. Maybe can you send me some pics? On the front wheel i need to know wath screw is holding the brake disc. and maybe can you take some dimensions from the rear drum brake holder (the long stick ) with some photo? :) thanks a lot ! :)

Attachments

• ^5A0BF4AAFF0BCC393A8BB088A2EF87114B91F0B4284AA74C5A^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr.jpg
    ^5A0BF4AAFF0BCC393A8BB088A2EF87114B91F0B4284AA74C5A^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr.jpg
    163.6 KB · Views: 313