A Canadian lost overseas

ryMY

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My name is Ryan Meyer and I am a Canadian who has moved to the Netherlands last year for school. Along with a couple major lifestyle changes, such as mountains at my backdoor being subtracted for the flattest country EVER, I as well do not speak Dutch. I am still learning the language basics, so this makes the process of finding parts (as well as daily life) pretty difficult over here, so I hope I can get a bit of help from you guys. My intentions are to create more of a brat style mixed with tracker and lots of cafe influence, so I hope this works for your visual aesthetic. I do however possess great taste :joker:, which means you can save your knickers from getting in a knot.

I have wanted to build a motorbike for ages, but due to many circumstances in life I have yet to get around to this. I was obsessed with dirt bikes and motorcycles in general when I was under 10-years-old, and the itch has not gone away.

I have purchasing a 1977 XS360 (basically the same bike as XS250 and XS400) last month for €200 and finally borrowed a friends van to move it back to my apartment last week. I convinced a few peers of mine to let me use their shed as a work shop (it's perfect IMO) so I then pushed it over there, purchased the minimal tools that I could afford and started attempting to figure out why it wasn't running.

This is the bike before I loaded it up to take home. (History: Bought it off a gentleman in his late 60s who raced motorbikes his whole life and wanted to fix this one up. He never got around to it so it stayed in his shop the exact same as how he bought it in 2002, for €200 as well. He said that it was running before but it just wouldn't run when I came around.)

I took off the seat first thing and found this… :scratch:*

(this one shows the wiring going to the battery)