Newbie here! stripped spark plug threads!!

member9724

XS400 Member
Reaction score
This is my first post ever on this place so bear with me. I recently got an xs400 (guy said it was a 650 but the engine said it was a 391cc) main problem I have with this bike is that the left spark plug thread is stripped!
I've been told to use a helicoil or just go ahead and buy a new head but I have no idea what model bike I have other than the size.
I need suggestions on what to do. Should I go ahead and buy a new head or re thread it? Also how do I find out what model I have?

The Vin is 2L0109138

I appreciate any help I can get and hope to be active on these forums!

Helicoil (there are other options, that's a brand name) is a good option. Personally, I would not buy a new head just for this.

That VIN tells me it's an XS400 made before 1981 (otherwise it would have a 17 digit VIN). Probably 1978 or 1979.

OK now I'm getting somewhere! So now I know the model year! The guy at the shop I went to was reluctant to do a helicoil and told me to get a new head but his main area of work was sport bikes.
I'll post some pics once I get off work so you can see if it's too far gone.

I really appreciate the help!

Looks like I'll be getting it done by a shop! I've never had luck with threading things. All I gotta do now is find a decent shop in Fort Worth to do it!! :D

I have been this situation before, if you search my post history you will find the thread i made which solves the issue.

Long story short : I went to Parts Source and bought the 15$ re-threading kit (It wasn't Helicoil, just the house brand).

Just follow its instructions haha I believer it was just grease up the tap, line it up and crank it in until it rethreads the spark plug hole. After this you would then secure the threaded sleeve to effectively shrink it back to the original size to fit your spark plug.