oil change question

horses

XS400 New Member
Reaction score
Hey there, I'm really new to motorcycles (and really, anything to do with an engine) and I recently got a 1980 xs400 special. This past week I went ahead and changed the oil and filter. The manual suggests 2.4 quarts of oil if you are changing the screen, so I went ahead and added 2 quarts and checked the oil levels, but they were already way too high.

The oil that I drained was very dirty (and there was not much of it), and the oil in there now is still pretty clean (even after running it a while), so I think I've ruled out the possibility that not all of the oil drained. I have checked the oil on the bike in several different locations, all on level ground on the center stand as the manual states.

I have no idea why the level is so high..

thoughts?

Last edited:
My first thought is do not base any decision on the level reading you get with it on the side stand. However, it is useful to note that at least you are able to see the top of a level through the site glass.
On a recent oil change, I neglected to wipe off the site glass. It was so dirty that I could not see the clean oil filling up the crankcase and I overfilled it :doh:.
Once I wiped off the glass, I could see it was too full of oil. The only thing for me to do was get a clean tin can and drain out some of the oil until I had the correct amount in the bike. I took out over 3/4 of a litre.

Since it is bad to run the bike with too much oil, you really need to drain it down to where you can see the level at the top of the site glass while sitting on level ground on the centre stand. Don't take the plug all the way out though. I unscrewed it by hand until it was completely disconnected, but I kept it pressed up against the hole and I was able to get a small, controllable stream to drain into the can.