having trouble with spark ..

yamahacafe400

XS400 Member
Reaction score
So i got my 82 xs 400 in january , i rode it for a few month of and on no prob.. It set for about 3or4 days i jumped on it started her up she ran for 10 secs then died .. pulled the plugs spark on the left good , checked the right and she only sparks once i let off the start button ... so i swapped the coil wire and plugs over to the opposite side ... no change so i dont think its the coils plugs or wires i tried a new cdi no luck ... she just will not run any ideas ?????? im just getting into the motorcycle game im kinda stumped ....

I am willing to jump off the deep end, I have SOHC so if you have a DOHC, this might not be your fix. Have you checked battery voltage? Is the charging system working? (ok so you can't check) maybe.
i rode it for a few month of and on no prob.. It set for about 3or4 days i jumped on it started her up she ran for 10 secs then died ..
It just that this seems to be a charged battery for a few months, and 3 to 4 days and ran for 10 secs, then died. What is your battery output? have you been keeping it on a charger/maintainer while its been out of service?
1st Check fuses. Look for grounding issues first. Clean the ground spots, some sandpaper/dielectric grease to protect the metal. (Clean the connector and the joining metal place.
So you could test my hypothesis by taking a auto battery, (if its in car "NOT RUNNING") try jumping your bike with the normal jump start procedures.

Okay so that's all normal. So my jumping to conclusions is... Your stator wires are shot. unless the stator wires have been replaced by your bikes PO. The wires go shot quite some time ago. (30 year old bike) Keyword Stator, you will see shot wires all over the WWW. I used Drewpys RE-Wire for the stator specific steps. there are others and each of them have their merits. The quick and easy way to check, With a cool bike, (don't touch a hot muffler) ohh yea not running for the last month.