Learning by doing, 79 Scrambler(ish) Build

alastairuk

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hi, I recently bought a 1979 XS400, with the plan to turn it into somewhat of a scrambler build. My daily ride is a Honda 1975 CB550, so this project is mainly to get my hands dirty and learn a little about motorcycles along the way, with the hope that i'll end up with something fun to ride on the street and on light trails/gravel roads. I have basic knowledge of motorcycles, supplemented by youtube videos, a couple different manuals, and annoying my friendly neighborhood mechanic/

I bought the bike in barely running condition, vacuum petcock non functioning and bypassed with an on/off valve. Carburetors leaked gasoline backwards into the air filters, battery was overcharged and dry of electrolytes, old spark plugs, torn seat, straight through exhaust that can wake the dead, head gasket leak, the tires were new but completely deflated.

The previous owner bought it as their first bike, decided that owning an older bike is too much hassle and bought a brand new harley, their loss my gain i guess.

2016-08-17 16.13.50.jpg

First thing I did was clean and adjust the carburetors, replace the spark plugs, and the battery and it ran reasonably well. Compression testing showed pretty good compression, and so I decided to start planning out the build. First thing I wanted to do is get the engine rebuilt, fix up the gasket leak, replace the clutch, measure the pistons etc for wear and get a rough idea of the over all condition of the engine.

Currently the engine is sitting disassembled in my dining room. The Haynes Manual was a great help in walking me through it step by step.

2016-10-10 13.19.31.jpg

I have new clutch disks, and piston rings that will be going on, I've also got a new drain plug, and shift lever as those were both damaged.