New to forum and xs400

southTxs400

southTxs400
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I bought a 1981 xs400 a couple of months ago off of craigslist for $500. It had all the paper work along with current plates. It just didnt have inspection because the electrical is full of shortages. The bike itself runs and the previous owner said he put in new carbs. I believe him now because after I had it parked for over a month, the bike started on its first kick when i went down for spring break :) Ive tested out everything and the ligths work, but like i said the electrical is bad so bilnkers dont blink, headlight is not working but does work (found that out after my cousin and I directly connected i to the battery and drained it!). I talked to someone who said they could rewire the whole bike from front to back for anywhere between 100-150 dollars. Im a college student who doesn't know much about bike and this xs400 was my first. I taught myself how to ride on youtube lol so much of the very little i know about bikes comes from online. Anyway being a college student, I am always on a low budget but i really like the bobbed look on these motorcycle. I know from researching that their is a very small market for replacement parts for the xs400. How much money would a person expect to go into converting an xs400 into a bobber? Also, does anyone have a good site or ebay seller that sells smaller blinker and a headlight? I want to change to smaller LED lights that dont stick out as much and an h4 headlight (i believe thats the kind of bulb that is currently used in motorcycles) because i was told that the older sealed beam headlamps can really drain your battery.
Any help would be much appreciated! thanks in advance guys!
-Robert