First Time Bike Rebuild: Thoughts?

maxholland1

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
This is my first time building a bike. Its an 1980 XS400 that was laying in dirt for years.

I just got the engine out and opened it up. What do you think? Clean, Medium, or Crazy messed up.....

Advice or perspective welcome. Pictures below:

Attachments

• photo 1.jpg
    photo 1.jpg
    202 KB · Views: 346
  • photo 2.jpg
    photo 2.jpg
    215.6 KB · Views: 339
  • photo 1(1).jpg
    photo 1(1).jpg
    214.5 KB · Views: 376
  • photo 2(1).jpg
    photo 2(1).jpg
    239.8 KB · Views: 357
  • photo 3.jpg
    photo 3.jpg
    286.5 KB · Views: 332
  • photo 4.jpg
    photo 4.jpg
    228.3 KB · Views: 311
Hi there,

Welcome to the forum. That's a good looking project (lots of potential). I had my motor apart this time last year, and I wish mine looked as good as yours. I did not see any broken fins. in the third picture, on the left side it looks like there is a little gasket material still on the cylinder head. I hope that is all it is, and not a crack (yikes)!

Are you planning on getting deeper into the motor or is this just a valve job?

welcome to the forum.

a little scuff marks on the cam bearings and the oil is dirty.

should be fine though if you give it a good service

I am going to go deeper into the engine? Any recommendations....

Do I need to replace the cam bearings, or can it be a bit scuffy?

Thanks. Keep the advice coming

The bearings are expensive as heck if they arent making noise I would leave them alone.Other than maybe take some 2000 grit and wet sand the surface a little.
BTW I wish i had a place to take my engine out.

I would try service it first and see how it runs, it may run good in which case you can save the cost/time of a rebuild. But if you want to rebuild it for experience and fun then do it! Heres my teardown/rebuild thread:

http://www.xs400.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6775&highlight=motor,+tear