Hello from Oregon, new member

ElvisRambler

XS400 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, just wanted to introduce myself and my new bike. I have been working on vintage dirt bikes for a few years now but I wanted a street bike. Found a 1980 XS400 on craigslist for $80, bought it and now I am going to town on it. I have already used this site for some advice but I haven't really dug into the project too much yet. I started a local motorcycle club in my town a while back too and all of those guys have been helpful too. My initial plans for the bike are to lighten it by removing all of the "stuff", it will be a classic styled cafe bike (rather than a streetfighter or monoshock), and although it is an '80 I would like to keep a lot of the classic parts that it has like the chrome fenders, black tank, large bulb headlight, etc. But who knows what will happen to it.....

I'm married, to a wife from a biker family so she appreciates my obsession. No kids. And really good health insurance (so I can still ride my dirt bikes). Anyways, thanks for the resources and I look forward to getting my build started and sharing the process.

Here is the bike about 1 hour after I bought it:
iphone+008.jpg

And after a good cleaning, and the handlebars flipped:
iphone+010.jpg

welcome to the forum ER

good start already and a healthy support network too :thumbsup:

keep us informed how your doing with it and some back stories on your bike club too :D