upshifting through gears

reed

XS400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
when upshifting through my gears it seams way to easy to do it without the clutch, not counting taking off ovcourse. ive search the web on this most people say never, some say only for racers with sponses to pay for it. but some have the belief that it aint so bad ,just dont down shift without cluch, I hear no grind or thud it does it as if i pulled the clutch whats the general concencus hear. am i just developing a lazy habit,seems maybe the former owner did it. asked after test driving it and the old dude just shook his head no.

Well, I'm no expert. However, from what I read, about the design of the transmissions, not opinions about what to do, added stress is placed on the shift dogs by shifting without the clutch. It may not be enough stress to cause a problem if the revs are matched well, but I prefer not to take the chance. I'll use the clutch.

The shift dogs are the notches on the purple gear below the shift fork that, when the notches insert into corresponding slots in the gears, lock the gear to the output shaft. Below is a diagram, then a pic of the dogs in real life. the way I understand it, it's not as much of a problem with the gear teeth themselves as the shift dogs...but I could be full of it. Wouldn't be the first time I've been accused of it.

transmissionsimple.gif

picture0081w.jpg

yaeh iam seaing what you are saying, gues i kinda knew it had to put stress somewhere thats why there is a clutch i guess. just does it so effortlessly some times cant even remember if i pulled it,maybe that is just the ol alziemers kikin in.

It will definitely increase wear and tear, whether it is an acceptable trade off is up to you. xs400 OHC's are 30+ years old remember!